jump to navigation

Literary Meme August 2, 2006

Posted by reddlissa in Literary Journal.
trackback

Stolen from Ephiany

1. One book that changed your life?
I’m going to have to choose the entire Little House on the Prairie series.  These books sparked two fires that have yet to be extinguished: my absolute love for reading and my fascination with history.   

2. One book you have read more than once?
There are so many books that I re-read but I think my favorite is Dangerous Liaisons by Choderlos de Laclos.  The depraved schemes of the Marquise de Marteuil and Vicomte de Valmont never cease to make be gasp in both horror and respect.  What a fabulously awful world!

3. One book you would want on a desert island?
The Holy Bible for a few reasons.  The most obvious reason is because it would take me quite a bit of time to read the entire thing from cover to cover, which is very handy on a deserted island where activities are probably limited.  Also, the New Testament is something familiar to me and reading my favorite passages would help comfort me in such a scary situation.  Finally, I would certainly have plenty of time to study and reflect on the deeper meanings of the Word, something I don’t take the time to do in my regular life.

4. One book that made you laugh?
Big Troubleby Dave Berry.  I picked this book up from the bargain table at B&N one day simply because I liked the cover art.  When I started to read, I couldn’t put the book down nor could I stop laughing.  The satire, irony, and outright jokes actually made me cry I was laughing so hard!

5. One book that made you cry?
I know I have cried while reading but for the life of me I cannot recall the title of a specific book that brought me to tears.

6. One book you wish had been written?
Hmmmm…time travel mixed with Tudor history with a touch of aliens and told from the viewpoint of the court jester

7. One book you wish had never had been written?
nothing comes to mind right now

8. One book you are currently reading?
Dead and Buriedby Quintin Jardine.  I picked it up in Scotland because Jardine is a Scottish author and I Wanted to try something new.  So far I am having a bit of trouble following the story because I don’t understand the hierarchy of the Scottish police department and justice system but hopefully things will move past that soon enough.

9. One book you have been meaning to read?
Anna Karenina by Tolstoy.  I’ve started it 3 times but never made it past the 4th chapter.

10. Now tag five people
I’ll leave this open to whoever may be interested

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

