jump to navigation

A Little Respect Please December 1, 2006

Posted by reddlissa in Rants/ Raves.
trackback

While watching Dead Poets Society with my senior writing class, the following conversation took place: 

Student 1:  “Miss, why does he have to listen to his dad?  He’s 18, ain’t he?” 

Me (stammering for an intelligent reply): “Because that’s his father and you have to do what your parents tell you to do.”    

Student 2: “No you don’t.  Once you turn 18 you don’t have to listen to ‘em.” 

Me: “I’m 30 and I still do what my mom tells me to do.” 

Student 1 (shocked): “What?! That’s dumb!” 

Student 2: “As soon as I move outta my momma’s house, I don’t have to do nothing she tells me.  She can ask me to do something and if I want to I might help her.” 

Me: “If my mom tells me to do something, I know she has asked for a reason and I do what she says.  I don’t need to know why.  She’s my mom and I do what she says.  That’s the difference between my generation and yours.” 

Student 1 (with a dismissive tone): “Ya’ll scared of your people.” 

Student 2: “Yeah, ya’ll scared.  Ya’ll let ‘em scare you and do whatever they say.” 

Me: “No, that’s called RESPECT not fear.  We respect our parents.  We don’t question them and we don’t ask ‘Why I gotta do that?’  It’s 2 different ways of thinking.” 

Student 1: “It’s stupid.” 

Me (with a sigh of frustration): Watch the movie please. 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

