jump to navigation

Cell – Stephen King December 26, 2006

Posted by reddlissa in Literary Journal.
trackback

Cell - Stephen King

In Cell King taps into readers fears of technological warfare and terrorism. Mobile phones deliver the apocalypse to millions of unsuspecting humans by wiping their brains of any humanity, leaving only aggressive and destructive impulses behind. Those without cell phones, like illustrator Clayton Riddell and his small band of “normies,” must fight for survival, and their journey to find Clayton’s estranged wife and young son rockets the book toward resolution.   [from Amazon.com]

I haven’t read a Stephen King novel in several years; I was addicted to his work in my early teen years.  One day I was in Walgreens, killing time while my daughter was at her guitar lesson, and randomly purchased this book.  I honestly had no expectations when I started to read but I should have known that anything written by King would be a good read. 

The story is a bit freaky and I found myself answering my cellphone with a bit of hesitancy for a few days.  Hypothetically speaking I suppose King’s fictional tale could one day  come true…God helps us.  Any King fan will likely enjoy the novel as will anyone looking for a fantastical view of what the future might bring.    

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

