jump to navigation

Booky Meme February 25, 2007

Posted by reddlissa in Literary Journal, Uncategorized.
trackback

This was “stolen” from MerrieB

Science Fiction, Fantasy or Horror?
Horror…I’m not into Sci fi or fantasy

Hardback or Trade Paperback or Mass Market Paperback?
For the most part trade paperback.  The only time I buy hardback is if I am absolutely dying to read a new book and can’t handle another moment of anticipation.

Amazon or Brick and Mortar?
Brick & Mortar on occasion – I need to hold a book before I can buy it.

Barnes & Noble or Borders?
B&N simply because it is closer to my house.

Hitchhiker or Discworld?
I honestly have no clue what this refers to.

Bookmark or Dogear?
Neither.  I just remember the page number.

Asimov’s Science Fiction or Fantasy & Science Fiction?
Neither…as I said I don’t read fantasy and sci-fi

Alphabetize by author, Alphabetize by title, or random?
I arrange my books by height, although I try to keep series together.

Keep, Throw Away or Sell?
Keep the ones I really love or know I’ll read again in a few years and sell the others.

Keep dust-jacket or toss it?
The few hardcover books I have still have the jackets.

Read with dustjacket or remove it?
I hate dustjackets– they are always in my way!  I won’t open a book until the stupid thing is safely stashed in my bedside table.

Short story or novel?
Novels.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket?
Harry Potter (I’ve never read Lemony Snicket).

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks?
I read until I don’t want to anymore then I toss the book on the table.  It doesn’t matter where I am, middle of the chapter, middle of a paragraph, or middle of a sentence. 

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time?”
Never thought about it but I guess “…dark and story night.”

Buy or Borrow?
Buy, although I’m not picky about whether the books are new or used.

Buying choice: Book Reviews, Recommendation or Browse?
Book reviews or browse.

Lewis or Tolkien?
I’ve never read Tolkien so by default it’s got to be Lewis.

Collection (short stories by the same author) or Anthology (short stories by different authors)?
Collections.  The only anthologies I have are from college.

Tidy ending or Cliffhanger?
ummm…just as long as it isn’t stupid I don’t really care.

Morning reading, Afternoon reading or Nighttime reading?
Every afternoon when I get home from work and every night before I turn out the light

Standalone or Series?
Series for most things.

New or used?
Used unless it is a series I collect.

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard?
We Need to Talk About Kevinby Lionel Shriver

Top 5 favorite genre books of all time?
Too many choices.

Favorite genre series?
Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon

Currently Reading?
Easy Preyby John Sandford

Comments»

1. MerrieB - February 26, 2007

Hey, I love the new look! I didn’t notice cuz I usually read posts in bloglines. But it looks great. Maybe I should change my template again….


Leave a Reply

