jump to navigation

Magic Meatloaf March 12, 2007

Posted by reddlissa in Family Affairs.
trackback

I made meatloaf tonight.  This is the first dish I ever cooked for Average Joe;he christened it “magic meatloaf” and it remains one of his favorite meals.  I usually serve it with mashed potatoes and corn. 

  • 2 lbs. ground beef (I use ground chuck)
  • 2 eggs
  • bread crumbs (I use 2 pieces of toast)
  • Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning, to taste
  • 2 (8 oz) cans tomato sauce

PREHEAT oven to 350°F.

MIX ground beef, eggs, bread crumbs, seasoning, and 1 can of tomato sauce in medium bowl.

POUR mixture into 12 ” cast iron skillet.  Spread evenly so meat fills entire skillet.

TOP meat with 1 can tomato sauce.

BAKE for 1 hour.

NOTE:  I use Hunt’s Tomato Sauce with Basil, Garlic and Oregano.  I like my meatloaf really tomato-y so I use 1½ can of sauce in the mixture and 1 can on the top.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

