jump to navigation

Five Question Interview April 27, 2007

Posted by reddlissa in Uncategorized.
trackback

Today’s post comes to you courtesy of MerrieB. She sent me some interview questions. Here goes…

1.  If you were a crayon, which color would you want to be?  What color would you actually be?

     In response to the first question, my favorite crayon has always been cerulean, simply for the interesting sounding name.  I also happen to really like the color blue, so I guess this is as good a choice as any.  Blue has a calming effect on me — think waves lapping gently on the shore in a hypnotic rhythm.  At this point in my life, I feel like a dark, brooding color, something totally dull and depressing.  I checked my daughter’s box of Crayola Crayons (the 64 count) and the most fitting choice is “outer space.”  It’s a grayish-blue color, completely devoid of any brightness.

2.  If you could play hockey, what position would you play and why?

     [head hanging in shame]I don’t actually know the names of all the positions and I certainly don’t know what the function of each is. (I know, bad hockey fan!)  I know for certain I could never be a goalie; I would never be able to maintain a calm and level head in the face of all that pressure.  I’d probably make a decent defenseman.  As far as I can tell, one of their main jobs is to hang out around the blue line in the event the puck clears the offensive zone.  They just kinda sit back and either slap the puck back in or chase it down and pass it back to the wings or center.  I don’t want some high profile, high stress position where I’m expected to score lots of goals, so wing and center are probably out for me. 

3.  How far back can you trace your family tree, and is there anything interesting about it?

     My great grandmother (my maternal grandmother’s mother) was able to trace our family back to some folks who came over on the Mayflower, although I never saw anything in writing.  Several years ago I began my own quest to compile a family tree but didn’t get very far.  I do know without a question that I am related to both Franklin and Theodore Roosevelt.  The “D” in FDR stands for Delano, which is my maternal grandmother’s maiden name.  I don’t know much about my faher’s side of the family, except that there are strains of both French and German.  My aunt created a rather comprehensive family tree a few years ago but I’m not familiar with it.  The interesting thing on my dad’s side of the family is that my grandmother and her brother married my grandfather and his sister.    

4.  What author and/or book has influenced you most?

     This is a really tough question to answer because I have read so many wonderful and influential books.  If I’m forced to chose, I’d have to say the Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  I probably read this series of books at least 10 times as a kid.  I think my passion for reading is rooted in this series of books and my affinity for historical stories is still strong today.   

5.  Would you rather serve in heaven or rule in hell?

     This is an absolute no-brainer.  Heaven is the obvious choice.  I have family members I’m looking forward to seeing again and I would be honored to serve God for eternity.  On a less serious side, it’s way too hot in hell.  After living in south Louisiana and south Texas my entire life, I’m not going to spend eternity sweating!

 If you’d like me to interview you, shoot me a quick email and I’ll come up with 5 questions just for you!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

