jump to navigation

Nice Weekend June 25, 2007

Posted by reddlissa in Family Affairs.
trackback

I enjoyed a mini family vacation this weekend.  My mom, aunt, and daughter drove to Austin on Saturday morning.  We met up with my brother and stuffed ourselves at Rudy’s Country Store and Bar-B-Q — the smoked turkey and creamed corn are my favorites.  After waddling back to the car, we decided to check in to the hotel and of course Sarah wanted to swim; Brad and I agreed to go to the pool for a bit (we were so stuffed from lunch I’m surprised we didn’t sink to the bottom!).  We managed to drag Sarah out of the pool after an hour, which gave the adults just enough time for a little nap before we had to get ready for our evening activities. 

My aunt had tickets to the Round Rock Express baseball game compliments of a company that she does business with in Austin.  This was my first visit to Dell Diamond and I have to say it is a very nice ballpark.  The seats we had were wonderful and the kids play area was tons of fun.  Sarah climbed the rock wall and Brad tested his skill at the fast pitch.  The food wasn’t totally overpriced (unlike Minute Maid or Reliant) and since this is a minor league team everything was on a much smaller scale which made for a much more relaxed “hometown” feel.  (I was reminded of the days of little league baseball back in south Louisiana.)

Sunday morning we stopped at IHOP on our way to the outlet mall in Round Rock.  Man, we made out like bandits in the 2 hours we were there!!  My mom found 3 pairs of shoes, a new purse, and a nice watch, I finally bought a pair of Crocs (and bought Sarah another pair), Brad left with 3 new pairs of shorts, and my mom bought me new dishes and glasses.  When we left the back of the car was completely loaded down with bags and boxes.

We dropped my brother of at the hotel (small side note: his car died and my mom and aunt were so upset and worried) and then headed back for Houston.  Overall it was a nice little getaway 🙂

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

