jump to navigation

A Major Commitment January 9, 2008

Posted by reddlissa in Weight Loss/Fitness.
trackback

I have decided to participate in the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer.  The Houston walk is April 12th and 13th.  I have never been part of a major event such as this but for some reason I feel compelled to join this fight.  The website has tons of great information, including a training schedule.  I will start training next week.  A friend from work has agreed to walk, too, and I’m really excited about having someone to train with.  She is our PE teacher so I know she will help me stay safe and keep me motivated. 

A nice “side effect” to the training will be weight loss.  I have (kinda) started back with Weight Watchers and I’m hoping that if I combine a stringent exercise program with a sensible diet I will see great results.

Wish me luck..and feel free to join us as “we walk as one” 🙂

Comments»

1. Meredith - January 10, 2008

I’m so proud of you! This is such a huge undertaking and for such a worthy cause. I don’t think I’m ready for that long a walk yet. I have a friend who did a 3 day walk in California and though it was very demanding physically she was thrilled she did it.

Here’s her post:
http://snarkynavywife.blogspot.com/2007/11/back-from-3-day.html


Leave a Reply

