jump to navigation

Good-Bye Soda February 5, 2008

Posted by reddlissa in Weight Loss/Fitness.
trackback

I drank my last Dr. Pepper today…oh how sweet and refreshing it was, my addicitive elixir of caffine!  To think, it will be an angonizing 40 days ‘fore I taste another 😦

Average Joe and I talked this morning, and he informed me that he is giving up cigarettes until Easter with the hope that after 40 days of no smoking he will be able to quit for good (yay Joe!!).   While I remembered to dress up in celebration of Mardi Gras I somehow managed to forget about the bigger picture behind the party – the season of Lent.  I should I be thankful that Lent is once again upon us; while I sacrifice one of my favorite indulgences I am also cutting a major source of calories from my daily diet.  Two birds, one stone and all that crap, right?  It’s just that I really don’t want to give up my daily soda…thus the reason I am choosing this for Lent.  If I didn’t care it wouldn’t be a sacrifice.

By the way, did I mention I’m not even Catholic?  Damn those strong south Louisiana roots.   

Comments»

1. Jenny - February 6, 2008

I would die without Dr. Pepper. In fact I just drank one filled with peanuts a minute ago and it was awesome.

I’m not helping, am I?

I mean…it was awful. And cancerous probably. Also I’m pretty sure it’s poisonous.

Better?


Leave a Reply

