jump to navigation

The First R February 10, 2008

Posted by reddlissa in Teacher Stuff.
trackback

The school where I teach has a mission statement that focuses on the 5 Rs: relevance, rigor, relationships, responsibility and respect.  I (accidentally) had the chance to present a great lesson on relevance this week.

Student: Miss, I hate writing.

Me: I know.

Student: Then why do you make me do it?

Me: You have to able to write in order to be successful in this world.

Student:Not if I work at Whataburger.

Me:And do you want to work at Whataburger for the rest of you life?

Student: No but I just don’t see the point of having to write.  I’m never gonna use this stuff in real life.  What am I gonna have to write?

Me: A resume, a cover letter, a letter of compliant…

Student: (with a heavy sigh) Whatever.

Me: Plus, the state of Texas requires you to write a coherent essay on order to get your diploma.  You can’t change that and neither can I.  I suggest you just except that fact and write your essay.

Student (rolling her eyes): Fine.  Whatever.

30 minutes later…

Student #2: Hey Jane, I love your jacket.  You look like a detective or something. 

Student #1: Thanks..Just call me Lt. Doe!  Ya’ll better not do nothing wrong ’cause I’m gonna bust ya’ll and send ya to jail.

Me: How are you going to prosecute them once you catch ’em?

Student #1: Huh?

Me: Court…How are you going to make sure the lawyers win the case against the criminals you catch?

Student#1: I’ll write it in my report.

Me (voice dripping with sarcasm) : You’ll do what? Write a report? Didn’t you just tell me you hate to write?  Didn’t you say you don’t need to write in your job?  What are you planning to do, walk into the court and tell the judge “Well, you see, what had happened was…”  I don’t think that will win your case.

*30 second pause*

Student: Oh I get it.  I see what you’re trying to do.  You want me to see that writing is important, huh?

Me: Well…

Student #1: Fine Miss, I get it, I get it…I gotta be able to write.

Me (with a barely hidden grin): Does this mean I’ll see a completed rough draft on Monday morning?

Student #1 (with a heavy sigh and lots of eye rolling):  Yeah Miss, I’ll have the paper.

Me: Thank you Jane.  Have a good weekend!

Comments»

1. Meredith - February 10, 2008

Hey, Whatabuger has a 401(k) plan…

Love the new look here!


Leave a Reply

