jump to navigation

When Education Works September 2, 2008

Posted by reddlissa in Rants/ Raves, Teacher Stuff.
trackback

Tonight was Open House at my school.  Generally I do not look forward to this event; poor parent turn out highlights one of the greatest frustrations faced by teachers.  Although I was at this same school last year, I have no memory of Open House so I walked in tonight with no expectations.  I could not have been any more surprised than I was by the end of the night. 

Parent attendance was low; I teach 35 students and only had the pleasure of meeting 2 sets of parents/guardians.  What took me by surprise were the number of STUDENTS on campus.  Our school services the enitre district yet we are located on the far southern end of the attendance zone.  Some of the kiddos there tonight had to drive at least 25 minutes to get to campus, and they weren’t even required to be there!!

I’ve said it before and after tonight I’ll say even louder.  I work at the best school in Houston!  For some of our students, for the first time in their lives they have found a place where they are loved and accepted.  Those kids showed up tonight because they love our building, they love our staff, and they are learning to appreciate and love themselves; they may not be able to articulate what they are feeling but they know that being at school makes them happy.   We are more than teachers and principals…we are parents. mentors, friends, and on some levels their equals.  Every single person in our building, regardless of role, title, age, or experience, is a part of the school family and I mean that with all the sincerity in my heart.  Our school is a beautiful example of public education can and schould be.

I walked out the school doors with my heart overflowing with happiness and pride.  I am so incredibly blessed to have the opportunity to work with an amazing team of people and I know that as a family we are making a difference in the lives of these children.

I just wanted to share :o)       

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

