jump to navigation

‘Cause I Can’t Come Up With My Own November 17, 2008

Posted by reddlissa in Uncategorized.
trackback

Questions from Curious Kitty-Cat via The Daily Meme

1) What book has most touched your soul?

   There are so many books that have impacted in me in different ways; I’m having a tough time making a final choice.  We Need to Talk About Kevin was an incerdibly powerful read.  The shame I felt for having “negative” parent thoughts lifted from my shoulders, and I accepted my parenting past.  I believe it made me appreciate S in a new way, and I trust my “mommy” instinct more.    

2) How do you think being a teenager today is different from when you were a teenager?

There are no more secrets in today’s society.  What I didn’t learn, experience, or discover until I was in college is now common in high school (or, God help us, middle school!).  Thanks internet, YouTube, and Google for putting it all out on the table.

On the flip side, I am amazed at what S and my students can do with a computer.  I was in the minority in high school (we had a computer at home AND a dot-matrix printer) but these days the average American household has at least one PC or laptop.   

3) If you found out for sure there was no afterlife at all, would you change how you live your life?

Nope

4) What is the biggest regret of your life so far?

I missed too much of S’s life when she was between the ages of 4 and 5.  My focus was me and my “romantic” life, and I neglected her too often.  She formed a bond with Aunt M that I am sometime jealous of, but I know it is 100% my fault.

5) Show and Tell. What comes to mind first when you see this picture? Or, tell a story if it reminds you of one. Public Domain Photo

Rocky and Bullwinkle…I swear that’s the first thing I thought 🙂

Comments»

1. Cat. - November 18, 2008

Doesn’t it feel good to finally feel that sense of knowing what’s best for the kid and accepting that we aren’t perfect all the time? I agree, too, that the internet has been a mixed blessing for kids.

Great answers. Thanks for playing.
(you were not the only one who thought of Rocky & Bullwinkle, by the way–hee hee)


Leave a Reply

