jump to navigation

A Reason for Thanks and a Call for Prayers December 16, 2008

Posted by reddlissa in Family Affairs.
trackback

HOUSTON — A middle school student from the Cy-Fair ISD was rushed to the hospital Tuesday afternoon after she was hit by a car.

The Bleyl Middle School student had just gotten off the bus at East Cypress Forest and Lynn Drive in Northwest Harris County.

Witnesses said the driver of the white Lexus ran a stop sign, hit the school bus and then hit the girl. It happened right in front of her home.

Read the rest of the story here

This is Sarah’s bus. She felt the car hit the bus but mercifully did not witness her schoolmate being struck by the car. She did see the girl lying motionless on the ground as everyone waited for help to arrive. She and the other students were “trapped” on the bus for over an hour and had to watch the girl being transported, the police start their investigation, and the media descend on the scene. Before boarding another bus in order to get home, Sarah was asked to fill out a witness statement.

Meanwhile I was at home completely freaking out. My cellphone died which caused me to miss her phone call informing me of the situation. I arrived home to an empty apartment and flipped out. I plugged in the phone and listened to the voice mail which caused me to panic even more (I could hear the fear in her voice and there were kids sobbing and yelling in the background). I called my Terror Twin who had the good sense to advise me to call the school and the district transportation center. While I was on the phone with the school, Sarah called again to tell me she was on her way home. I was a wreck until she walked in my front door.

We snuggled when she got home and talked about the accident several times during the evening. I treated her to dinner at Del Pueblo and gave in to her request for a can of cake frosting while we shopped at the grocery store. After dinner we watched Mary Poppins, our favorite movie when Sarah was younger. She is now tucked into my bed; we will cuddle lots throughout the night. 

Please send your prayers and positive thoughts to the girl and her family. She is in critical condition at Texas Children’s Hospital. I cannot even imagine the worry and pain her parents are feeling. I know I will hold Sarah a little tighter when I crawl into bed and offer up a prayer that she is safe.

UPDATE:  I awoke to the heart-breaking news that Nicole L. did not survive the night.  I broke the news to Sarah before she got out of bed because I knew it would be plastered all over the news.  She wanted to see the news story; we sat on the couch and I held her as she wept.  I managed to hold back the tears until I got in the shower.  I cried tears of relief and sorrow and asked for God to wrap His loving arms around the family in this horrible time.  Sarah is devastated that Nicole’s family has to face this so close to Christmas and she decided to wear black to school to show her sorrow.  We hugged and cried before she walked out the door.

Comments»

1. Vanessa - December 17, 2008

I read the KHOU update on Twitter after your comment to Susan and I was hoping that it was a different bus than hers. Dear God! Will there be a grief counselor at school today? Is she doing ok this morning? I’m so glad that they got that asshole.

2. bandnerdtx - December 17, 2008

Give S lots of hugs and love for us. I’m so sorry she had to witness all of that.

I saw the jerk on the news. What a loser. He was making like he was going to hit the camera man. Disgusting.


Leave a Reply

